Maldives resorts bag top honours at World Travel Awards

2 mins read

It was a good night for Maldives tourism as the globe’s finest travel brands were unveiled at the World Travel Awards (WTA) Grand Final Gala Ceremony 2022 in Oman.

The evening of 11 November capped off an exceptional year for the country. Half a century after welcoming the first visitors to its shores, the Maldives claimed the ultimate honour of ‘World’s Leading Destination’ for the third consecutive year.

Several Maldives resorts also took the top prize in the World’s Leading awards category: 

World’s Leading Airport Resort – Hulhulé Island Hotel

World’s Leading Honeymoon Resort – JA Manafaru

World’s Leading Luxury Honeymoon Resort – Vakkaru Maldives

World’s Leading Luxury Island Resort – The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort

World’s Leading Water Villa Resort – Emerald Maldives Resort & Spa 

World’s Leading Seaplane Operator – Trans Maldivian Airways

World’s Most Romantic Resort – Baros Maldives 

Courtesy of World Travel Awards

“It has been an honour to stage our comeback Grand Final here in the magnificent Sultanate of Oman. I would like to personally thank all of the winners tonight. You have been recognised by our global voting audience as the leaders of tourism excellence. I know that your commitment to becoming the very best will in turn serve to drive up standards across the industry and will raise the collective benchmark.”said Graham Cooke, Founder of WTA.

The World Travel Awards was established in 1993 to acknowledge, reward and celebrate excellence across all sectors of the tourism industry.

Today, the WTA brand is recognised globally as the ultimate hallmark of quality, with winners setting the benchmark to which all others aspire.

Each year, WTA covers the globe with a series of regional gala ceremonies staged to recognise and celebrate individual and collective success within each key geographical region.

WTA gala ceremonies are widely regarded as the best networking opportunities in the travel industry, attended by government and industry leaders, luminaries and international print and broadcast media.

Click here for the full list of winners.