Singapore Airlines named Best in the World 

2 mins read
Image courtesy of Singapore Airlines

Singapore Airlines won the title of the Best Airline in the World for the fifth time at the Skytrax World Airline Awards 2023. The airline was also awarded Best First Class Comfort Amenities, Best First Class Airline and Best Airline in Asia. 

The awards were announced at a gala ceremony held at the Air and Space Museum at the Paris Air Show on 20 June. 

Qatar Airways and ANA AII Nippon Airways won second and third place respectively.

Goh Choon Phong, the Chief Executive Officer of Singapore Airlines, received the award on behalf of the airline.

“This award is a testament to the indomitable spirit of our people, who worked tirelessly and made many sacrifices to ensure that SIA was ready for the recovery in air travel. That has allowed us to emerge stronger and fitter from the pandemic as a leading international airline,” said Phong. 

“We are very grateful to our customers for their enduring loyalty to and affection for Singapore Airlines. During the pandemic, their support and encouragement gave us the strength and determination to overcome the unprecedented challenges. Today, as we recover from the pandemic, we are firmly committed to innovating and investing in industry-leading products and services, and ensuring that SIA continues to offer our customers a world-class travel experience.”

Qatar Airways and ANA AII Nippon Airways won second and third place.

Widely regarded as ‘the Oscars of the aviation industry’, the World Airline Awards began in 1999 when Skytrax launched its first global, annual airline customer satisfaction survey. Organised by Skytrax, the awards are independent and impartial with all of the customer survey costs and awards event paid by the organisers. The awards are not restricted to member airlines or a pre-selected choice of airline, and any airline in the world can be nominated. Skytrax conducts independent customer surveys that includes over 320 airlines worldwide. 

Click here for the full list of winners.